Depp has depth

By merely looking at the movie poster of the film, I was able to predict that Sweeney Todd: The Demon Barber of the Fleet Street is again a Johnny Depp-Tim Burton collaboration. The poster belches out a sense of gloom, bleakness and mystery, which generally constitute Burton’s personal style. I admire Tim Burton’s profundity and Johnny Depp’s brilliance, ergo it is my obligation as a fan to see their new offering.

Sweeney Todd offers an unusual pairing of horror, musical and dark humor. But Burton is able to execute it really well, of course with the help of the impressive actor Johnny Depp. The film is set in London, dark London that is, as the opening clips show us. The story begins with a series of flashbacks of Benjamin Parker’s bereaved past. He was arrested by Judge Turpin, who is played by the very salient Alan Rickman, for a crime he did not commit. As a result, he was sent away from London. After years of being away, he comes back with a new identity, Sweeney Todd who then seeks to revenge against Judge Turpin. This time, he’s not a man of refinement anymore, but a man who bears a likeness to Grim Reaper. Madness has gotten the hell out of his good side. As a form of revenge, he then establishes a barbershop which in the next minutes of the movie will turn into a murder spot.

This is definitely Tim Burton at his best, excellently executing everything from visual elements to music. The set designs, costumes and makeup are outstanding. They all successfully come in useful in building up the grim atmosphere of the movie. The film is also full of graphically disturbing moments, wherein almost everyone in the movie house would either cover their eyes or utter a heavy heave because of sheer disgust. But if you’re really squeamish, you can always do the first one. I also love how Burton injected humor in the film. It’s subtly interposed, but still element of grim is present. Johnny Depp is as always impressive. And the man can sing Sondheim score. His singing stint is not operatic, but it is nevertheless effective. Helene Bonham Carter who played as Mrs. Lovett also adds to the greatness of the movie. So does everybody else, from Alan Rickman to Sacha Baron Cohen.

Let me share you some of my thoughts after watching the movie.

1. What’s Borat doing in the film? Lol.

2. At one point, I felt like I was watching Harry Potter. There was one moment in the film when Helena Bonham Carter, Alan Rickman and Timothy Spall all appeared simultaneously.

3. Sweeney Todd is more of a shaver, not barber. Lol.

4. Never watch this movie alone. Share the disgust with somebody. Also, never munch on a hamburger while watching. Don’t ask me why.

About Kenneth Theodore

I translate ethnic slurs. View all posts by Kenneth Theodore

9 responses to “Depp has depth

  • Johnny Depp » Depp has depth

    […] Here’s another interesting post I read today by Esse quam videri […]

  • Movies and Film Blog » Depp has depth

    […] Esse quam videri placed an interesting blog post on Depp has depthHere’s a brief overview […]

  • kringle

    1. What’s Borat doing in the film? Lol.
    – wahaha…i know..! It was so hilarious to watch him in that funny funny costume while singing with that accent :P

    2. At one point, I felt like I was watching Harry Potter. There was one moment in the film when Helena Bonham Carter, Alan Rickman and Timothy Spall all appeared simultaneously.
    – really? hm… i don’t remember @__@. anong scene yun? and btw, didja notice that johnny depp’s the only american actor in the cast? for those in the major roles at least :P

    3. Sweeney Todd is more of a shaver, not barber. Lol.
    – ok, ahaha…warning: geek mode on. Or slightly atleast? :P

    But, anyway, ahaha…actually checked dictionary.com after reading your blog and found out that yeaahh. Sweeney Todd’s still considered a barber since apparently, and i quote, a barber’s “a person whose occupation it is to cut and dress the hair of customers, esp. men, and to shave or trim the beard”.

    4. Never watch this movie alone. Share the disgust with somebody. Also, never munch on a hamburger while watching. Don’t ask me why.
    – you were eating a hamburger while watching the movie? wahaha…dayng..! poor you..!

  • Ken

    KRINGLE. :D

    1. What’s Borat doing in the film?

    Sobrang benta kaya. Hahaha. But I absolutely loved his acting stint.

    2. At one point, I felt like I was watching Harry Potter. There was one moment in the film when Helena Bonham Carter, Alan Rickman and Timothy Spall all appeared simultaneously.

    I forgot that part na rin. Or was I a bit confused? Basta they’re Harry Potter casts din. Hahaha.

    3. Sweeney Todd is more of a shaver, not barber. Lol.

    I actually consulted the dictionary first before putting this up. Apparently, you’re right about the barber thingy that you got from the dictionary. But I would just like to point out that in the movie, he had done more of shaving than cutting, per se. Hahaha.

    4. Never watch this movie alone. Share the disgust with somebody. Also, never munch on a hamburger while watching. Don’t ask me why.

    I was. And you never warned me. WAF. Hahahaha. But the hamburger was good. :P

  • pol

    I am not really a fan of musical flicks, but this one impressed me. And Johnny Depp CAN sing Sondheim.

    My nephew was a bit furious about the film being R-18. He said he loves blood. Hahahaha!

  • victor

    i havent seen his film :(

  • yoshke

    “Never watch this movie alone. Share the disgust with somebody.”

    I told ya. haha. So, whom did you watch it with? Yung kasama mo sa bahay? :P

  • Ken

    I should have taken your advice then. Haha. Unfortunately, I watched it alone. I didn’t get to share the disgust with somebody, but I gave my fair share of “Eeewww!” in the movie house. Haha.

Leave a Reply

