Embers and envelopes

Classify me as the abandoned one. There is no regret. The love that I offered was denied. There is pain and sadness, as there should be. For the heavens cry each time love is rejected.

But there is also freedom. Now, I can move on. I wrapped my heart inside a tin box and lavished this with golden ribbons with a label that proclaimed, For You Alone. Now, I have the liberty to unwrap it and wait for the next person who comes aong.

My heart is fragile, there is no mistake. I dreamed for you and me. I painted a future where love resides in a home built for us.

Nobody forced me to dream. It was my choice. When the heart is filled with passion and longing, it strives best by looking forward, for I believed that there will be a time for us.

There is none. There never was.

So tonight, when the embers of my love will finally turn cold, I will celebrate. Not only because I survived a broken heart, but also because I allowed it.

And so my friend, this is my last goodbye. The next time we meet, we will meet as strangers. Strangers are incapable of hurting one another. We will drink, we will dance and we will have fun. No one will know the painful memory we have created together. That will remain our secret.

I suppose we shall be known as strangers who share the same secret.

Cheers.

About Kenneth Theodore

I translate ethnic slurs. View all posts by Kenneth Theodore

4 responses to “Embers and envelopes

  • deejay

    “For the heavens cry each time love is rejected.”

    your words strike a chord.

    when the pain ebbs, may you remember this feeling not with regret but with a fondness. for every love lost means the chance of a greater love gained. it may not happen soon but trust that it will and when it does, the heavens will rejoice.

    pardon me if my words are too familiar.

    i was charmed by your words and how expressively you said them. cheers!

  • samjuan

    “And so my friend, this is my last goodbye. The next time we meet, we will meet as strangers. Strangers are incapable of hurting one another. We will drink, we will dance and we will have fun. No one will know the painful memory we have created together. That will remain our secret.”

    Hetong talatang ito ang panalo eh!
    galing. Shet. Sana masabi ko din yan sa mga taong parte na ng nakaraan.

    very well said.

  • Ken

    Maraming salamat. Ngunit, hayaan nyo muna akong magpakalunod sa depresyong natatamasa ko ngayon.

Leave a Reply

