Embrace sadness

One moment your life is peachy and the next moment your life spirals into a mad spin so fast you fully understand the theoretical concept of time-warp. Far from being paranoid, you can’t help but wait for when the universe will drop the other shoe. In the meantime, all you have to do is wait. This fully explains why people embrace hope. It’s so much better than the cold acknowledgment of nothingness.

I know quite well that I have been emotionally unstable for the past week(s). This time last year, I could completely recall myself being soaked in the same situation. No, I take that one back. It’s not the situation that I should blame, it’s my disposition. I am such a glutton for sadness. Good or bad, I don’t know. But let me quote a certain person: “We should embrace sadness whenever it sets ashore on our doorstep. We should never contend with sadness. We must recognize its arrival. If we fully grasp the essence of sadness, we fully grasp the meaning of happiness.” I cannot agree more. I am never one to be emotionally transparent. I keep things to myself. Which, to begin with, is absolutely wrong.

I checked my logbook of activities a while ago. Questions dangle in my head like infuriating specks of cheerful-beyond-belief clouds that just won’t give me a break. I don’t know what I’ve been doing with my life. All I know is that I’ve been trying to combat unhappiness. Maybe I should not. Maybe this certain person is right.

Let me have a Coke while I try to embrace sadness.

About Kenneth Theodore

I translate ethnic slurs. View all posts by Kenneth Theodore

11 responses to “Embrace sadness

Leave a Reply

