We all bark at the moon.

Insanity is the only logical explanation. And even that isn’t a justifiable reason why I act like a complete doofus-head in the past few weeks. Deadlines loom left and right, pressing things require undivided attention and at times, I feel like stepping out for lunch, board a one-way flight to the rainforests of Nepal and anonymously file a missing person registry on my behalf so people will be comfortably resolved of the fact that I am rapidly decomposing elsewhere and move on with the neat choreographies of their respective lives. I know it’s an immature, irresponsible way of putting things into perspective but I pledged madness upfront ergo I believe that it is the only validation I would ever need. Or maybe I’d simply argue my point with a fully loaded nuclear head. I don’t think so. Too much mess.

Weeks have passed and I haven’t had the clarity to write about things that are important, that genuinely matter. Procrastination has nothing to do with it. I have had difficulty finding the proper words to articulate the tremendously draining events and discoveries in the past few weeks. In moments like these, words would conveniently take a holiday, leaving me stumped, miserable, voiceless.

My mother didn’t get a cheap greeting card, not even a ten-second call from me on her birthday a couple of days ago. I feel awful. It’s like a culpable barnacle lodging my brains, multiplying rapidly, emitting paroxysms of guilt racking my nerves. I called her last night and a wisdom-laden, beatific voice assured me that it’s all right but I’d like to believe I’ll never inherit those pricey heirloom whatzits preserved by mothballs. Which is fine by me. Expect that I feel terrible. It’s like I just sat through Sister Mary Fatima’s catechism thesis on what will be in store for ill-behaved boys who murder millions of potential lives with a boner and a busy hand.

Two friends are equally miserable. One is anxious and ambivalent, facing a turnpike pegged with tough choices involving affections, finances, deceits, disloyalties. The other breathes a retrospective wistful ache of the same experience while braving an intangible affection that is stuck between stop lights of daily concerns and immediate burdens. Both are amazing people who, like everyone else, are fumbling through life, making use of whatever wisdom, knowledge or insight that will get them through the spaces between dawn and dusk.

Thinking about these things makes me feel the sublime intensity and truthfulness seamlessly captured in dog barking at the moon by Joan Miro. The painting struck me deeply when I first encountered it in Arts class and it still reverberates in my mind like a well erupting into a delirious song from the weight of a penny from a wisher’s hand.

A dog barking at the moon. Come to think of it. Generally, we all are.

About Kenneth Theodore

I translate ethnic slurs. View all posts by Kenneth Theodore

9 responses to “We all bark at the moon.

  • ShatterShards

    That’s a Catch 22, that one. You’d have to be insane to excuse yourself of your current actions, but pleading insanity means that you aren’t insane, and therefore liable to scrutiny. We forgive you, though. ;-)

    I think everyone goes though that hellish period wherein you just want to curl up and die, or make a hobby out of serial killing. The important thing is to rise above it.

    After you’ve done so, tell me how you did it, so I might get myself out of my slump as well.

  • Ken

    Oooh. Is it a book? Gotta read it!

    Rise above it, eh? How do you plan to go about wallowing in our state? I bet that’d be fun. :-D

    • ShatterShards

      Yep, there’s a book (and a movie, I think) with that title. Catch 22. I haven’t read the book yet, but the premise is interesting, about an enlisted man, who will try to do anything just to get out of the army, even to the point of feigning insanity. :-)

      There was a study before that states that during economic depressions, people read more fiction, to get away from the harsh realities facing them. It works for my depressive states at times, but there are times when I can’t even concentrate to read a book, and those times are such a bummer.

  • pol

    SPAM ENTRY AGAIN! HAHAHA!

  • Yas

    whoa. can’t say much. tayo nga ay mga askal na tumatahol sa buwan.

    gusto ko to. tinamaan nga na naman ooh. nyahaha!

  • czyszczenie bik najtaniej

    Generally I don’t read post on blogs, however I would like to say that this write-up very compelled me to take a look at and do so! Your writing taste has been amazed me. Thanks, quite nice article.

  • google

    May I simply just say what a relief to discover someone who genuinely knows what
    they are discussing on the net. You actually understand how to bring an issue to light and make it important.

    More and more people have to read this and understand this side of your story.
    I can’t believe you are not more popular because you definitely possess the gift.

Leave a Reply

